Some of our 2017-2018 scholars have arrived Saturday, September 16th 2017
It’s the start of the academic year and some our 2017 – 2018 scholars have arrived in London. Billeted in member’s houses across the city Maria Abdel Karim, Film at Bournemouth, Natali Farran, Applied Neuropsychology at Bristol (The Rajaa Salam scholarship) and Lamis Jamil (The Raja Salam scholarship), Development and Emergency Practice at Oxford Brookes, spent two days getting to know a little of the metropolis and a little bit of us. Highlights were a trip to the West End to see the musical Matilda and tea on the Saturday morning hosted by Dalia Salaam Rishani. Once again many thanks to James Watt, Chairman of the Scholarship Committee and to Dalia for all her support and to Anthony Dawton for the back-room work and photographs. Our two other scholars, Mohamed Ibrahim, Leadership and Management in Health and Social Care at Southampton and Rayan Taher, Clinical Psychology at Southampton, follow soon and we look forward to hosting a welcome event for all five early in October.
All Contents ©1998-2018 British Lebanese Association Unauthorized duplication strictly prohibited.
Annual BLA Scholar’s Tea Party Friday 02 September 2016, 7.00pm
Friday evening saw the annual scholar's tea party hosted by scholarship committee member Dalia Salam Rishani. All the scholars made it though the Friday evening traffic. First prize for effort though goes to Layla Basma who coached it in from Bristol University closely followed by Mathilda Jabbour who came up from Southampton University! Rita Maroun and Joane Cremesty joined the tea party straight from  lectures at UCL and SOAS respectively. James Watt, chairman of the Scholarship Committee was pleased to see all ‘his’ scholars together under one roof and the BLA’s chairman Sir David Richmond clearly enjoyed presenting the Association’s scholarship certificates to the scholars. Also there, was Lisa Zakhem, Honorary Secretary and Chairman of the Events and Fundraising Committee and Bob Bell Honorary Treasurer, without which and without whom there would be no funding for the scholars! Good to see also David Turner the IT backbone of the Association and Anthony Dawton the BLA’s administrator and ‘official photographer’ for the afternoon.